Card and Envelope Sizes

IMG_4202- Blog

Hello all!

One of the first questions I had when I first started making cards:

How big do I make the card?

After starting out and getting a rhythm with my pen knife and metal ruler, I moved to Scotland. It was then that I learned common envelopes sizes were different in North America and Europe.  I made a card to send back to Canada.  After doing some research on where to shop, I went out and bought a pack of envelopes to find my card was TOO SMALL!!!  Time to learn my cards sizes!

Here in Canada, and in the United States, the most popular handmade card size fits an A2 envelope.  A2 measures, in inches, 5 3/4 by 4 3/8 inches so card sizes are commonly made around 5 1/2 by 4 1/4.   An A4 envelope, measuring 6 1/4 by 4 1/4 inch,  in North America is closer to the C6 envelope, which is the size you will commonly see in Europe (and much of the world).  A C6 envelope measures 6 2/5 by 4 1/2 inches.

Other common card and envelope sizes that you will find in craft stores include A6 (6 1/2 by 4 3/4), A7 (7 1/4 x 5 1/4), or square that are usually around 6 by 6 inch.

Personally, I tend to stick to A2 envelopes for greeting cards and A4 or A7 for wedding invitations.  The A4 envelope works well when doing more detailed cards such as a tri-fold shutter card.

For those of you that love to have lots of dimension in your cards, Anita’s Expandable Envelopes by Docrafts are the best for those multimedia cards or those with lots of layers of foam tape.  They’re a must-have in my supplies, and come in a variety of sizes!

These can now be found on Amazon.ca, but the image below will take you directly to the Docrafts website.

ANT 1704001-xlarge

Which card size do you use the most?  Leave a comment and let us know what works best for you!

Leave a comment