Birthday Cards for Men

IMG_4486- blog edit

Hi everyone,

So, I was asked to make a card for my husband’s grandfather’s birthday.

Normally when I am asked to make a card, ideas come flooding in.  Every time I am asked to make a card for this particular man, I lose all inspiration.  It’s not because I don’t have any creative drive or little affection for the man… quite the opposite.  I tend to struggle with cards for men, and this is a rather special recipient.  This is one of those times when I want to create perfection.

After some deep thinking, I came up with this card.  It was remarkably easy once I worked out the idea, and I thought maybe it would be a good one to share for those times when inspiration eludes us.

IMG_4458- blog editWhat you will need for this is cardstock, sticky stuff, some Ranger Foil Sheets and a die cutting machine.  I still love my (very old) Cricut so I pulled her out with the Beyond Birthdays cartridge to get started.  I selected the ‘Happy Birthday’ image on the shadow setting and cut it at 2 inch.

IMG_4463- blog editAfter removing my die cut from the mat, I fed it through my Xyron Create-A-Sticker machine.  Since I wanted it sticky on both sides, I flipped it over and fed it through a second time.  To help the image go through again, I trimmed down the backing piece before feeding it through.

I pulled off the backing covering the top side of the image.  While this will create a layer of glue in the negative space, that’s ok.  It can be easily removed later.

IMG_4467-blog editThe Ranger Foil Sheets are super easy to use.  All I needed to do was press the ‘ugly’ side down (all you need is a light pressure with your fingers) on an adhesive and gently peel it off.  If you would like a distressed look like I did here, just choose a different color foil and go over the blank areas.  Press, gently remove, repeat until you have the look you like!

IMG_4479- blog editOnce my ‘Happy Birthday’ piece had that pretty distressed foil look, I chose a card blank I had previously made using Bazzill brown Cardstock.  I chose a second piece of Bazzill cardstock in cream for the layering.  The notecard measured 5.5 inch x 4.25 inch.  I cut the cream piece approximately 5.25 inch x 4 inch and attached it using double sided tape.  I cut a piece of Recollections burlap to a 1 inch width and glued it down using Ranger Multi Medium Matte.  Wanting a bit more dimension I chose a piece of Recollections ribbon and stuck it on using the same glue.

IMG_4482- blog editBefore attaching the ‘Happy Birthday’ die cut, I removed the backing to reveal the glue.  There was a fair amount of glue in the negative space so using a pair of tweezers, I gently pulled the excess toward the back of the die cut.  I removed the pieces that detached easily and folded over the pieces that remained attached.

To ensure the card survived the mail all the way to Australia, I added a few drops of the Ranger Multi Medium to the back of the die cut and attached it to the card.

IMG_4483- blog editTo finish it all off, I went over the image one more time with a foil sheet to cover all the sticky bits.  This gave it more of a polished look and made sure there was no areas of adhesive left uncovered.  I then gently cut off the ends of the ribbon and burlap so that they were flush with the card.

While it’s not quite the perfection I want (there is ALWAYS room for learning and improvement) I am really pleased with the result and am sure he will like it!

IMG_4500- blog edit

I know we all have those tough projects we take on.  What themes do you struggle with the most?  What are your fall back techniques?  Leave a comment and let us know!


Materials used:

  • Cricut cutter with Beyond Birthdays cartridge
  • Bazzill Basics Cardstock
  • Xyron Create-A-Sticker 2.5 inch machine
  • Ranger Foil Sheets (Vintage)
  • Ranger Mulit Medium Matte
  • Recollections Burlap
  • Recollections Ribbon
  • Quilled Creations Quilling Tweezers
  • Double Sided Tape

Leave a comment